top of page

Interview with Author Steve Clark


We were lucky enough to catch up with Author Steve Clark this week and find out a little more about him. If you don't know who Steve is, well you're about too!

Question 1. Tell us a little about yourself? (Where you are from, family, career, If you are really a super hero by night)

I’ve lived in Oklahoma all my life except for a summer in the U.S. Forest Service in West Virginia. Fighting fires, building logging roads, and seeing other guys on the team bury axes into themselves, made me decide to go to law school. When I was in law school, I ran down a shoplifter, blocked her knife with my briefcase, and kept her cornered her until police came. When I made the paper, friends called me “Batman.”

Question 2. When did you fall in love with writing? And what prompted you to finally just do it?

I once dated a very well read woman. I tried to impress her with a few short stories -- failed – she dumped me. For years I wanted to try again. I took the Kristen Kerry character out of one of the stories, fully worked her background, and got going again.

Question 3. Tell us a little about your writing process? ( Do you write a certain amount of words a day, write in a quiet space or are you a plotter or a punster type of writer.

I don’t plot out in detail – just a basic idea, then try to think of what might happen next – what would be exciting. Usually if I’m stuck I go back and edit or proofread and eventually another idea pops up.

Question 4. Tell us a little about your series.

Kristen Kerry came from a dysfunctional family. Her father was a surgeon who lost his license because she testified against him. She fled her hometown and put herself through law school. In her first big case from Justice is for the Lonely she discloses the truth to the detriment of her client and law firm. She’s tough, athletic, insecure, and sometimes reckless, though very frightened of love and commitment.

Question 5. What are some of the struggles you had when writing these books?

I love the character so much I tend to overwrite her scenes and thoughts. I could add much more from her scripted childhood but have learned to do backstory “drop ins.”

Question 6. What are you working on right now?

Two more Kristen Kerry books are planned, taking her to Britain where she befriends a London cop and searches for missing girls. I’ve played with a YA manuscript involving a friend of Kristen’s adopted daughter.

To purchase a copy of Justice is for the Deserving ( A Kristen Kerry novel) by Steve Clark visit the links below:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page